Making Regular Backups
Home > 
Making Regular Backups
< back

Making Regular Backups

When you modify or remove important data on your computer, make sure that the data is backup. A backup is the last defense against data loss, providing a way to restore the original data. A good backup strategy is essential for data security.

Reasons for having Data Backup - To Restore Lost Data

Data on a hard disk can be lost for a variety of reasons, such as:

hardware failure;
operating system failure, e.g., file system crash;
files or volumes modified or deleted accidentally by yourself;
files or volumes modified or deleted intentionally by intruder;
files or volumes modified or deleted by malware.

Tips for Making a Backup

Identify what data needs to be archived. You should always classify your data into different level of importance. Backup of critical data shall be performed more frequently, e.g. daily or whenever the data is modified.
Encrypt sensitive information. If your data contains sensitive information, you should encrypt the data. Alternatively, there are a number of commercial software tools that can enforce password protection for a given set of data to guard against unauthorised reading or editing.
Avoid storing data in dispersed locations. It will be much easier to perform backup on a set of data if the components of the set are stored in the same proximity, e.g., all under the "My Documents" folder or on a separate "d:" drive.
Choose appropriate backup media. Common media for backup include:
Use Network backup solution such as trusted cloud storage, or Network Attached Storage with Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks (RAID) which is configured in RAID1, 5, 6 or 10 such that data will not be lost even if there is error in one of the physical disk drives. The disk could be SSD (Solid State Disk) or magnetic diskettes depends on the budget, speed of writing and capacity required
Removable (external) hard disk - Depending on the hard drive model, a backup volume like this can run to several hundred GB, or even multi-terabyte (1000 GB). These are fast, simple and convenient. However, hard drives are mechanical devices and may be prone to physical damage, if they are not sufficiently shock-proof. SSD is recommended which is more shock-proof and faster than mechanical devices.
Tape - backup tape (usually DAT or LTO) is only used for advanced users or organisational or network backup. Managing a tape drive backup system can be complicated and requires an IT specialist.
Hardcopy print out - In some cases, the only option may be to print out copies of your data for backup purpose.
Monitor the backup process. Always keep an eye on the backup process. There are often some files locked by the computer that cannot be copied at the time of backup. In addition, before you perform a backup, make sure your computer is clean - ensure you have the latest anti-malware software installed.
Protect your backups. Depending on the backup media you select, consider where you store your backups once complete. For example:
The network attached storage could be located in an off-site location, a separated location from production, such as a trusted cloud environment with sufficient SLA in availability or a Disaster Recovery Centre.
Flash drives and removable hard disk should be kept in a dry and electrostatic free storage location.
Consult the manufacturer on the best way to store the media. Also consider the physical security of the media. You do not want to have your data stolen, so it is a good practice to keep your sensitive and critical data backups away from your normal data backup in a separate location.
Keep an inventory and Label your backups. It is a good practice to label your backup by writing down the backup date, and a brief description of the contents. An index summary for previous backup is also useful for retrieval afterward.
Verify and check your data recovery process. It is a good idea to check and verify that you can actually recover data from your backup regularly, in particular,
when you upgrade the operating system and software on your computer - for instance, check if your CD drive is compatible with the new system.
Check that the formats of any backed-up documents are still supported by the new system.
Certain types of old media may not be supported by your new system, e.g. fewer and fewer new PCs come with floppy drives now, so you may not be able to retrieve data from a floppy disk backup set.
Take extra care when Disposing of your backup media. Use degausser or physical mean to destroy any disposable backup media. All items of equipment containing storage media shall be verified to ensure that any sensitive data and licenced software has been removed or securely overwritten prior to disposal or re-use.

Click here to learn more about Backup & Recovery.

定期做備份
主頁 > 
定期做備份
< 返回

定期做備份

良好的備份策略對資訊安全來說是必要的。備份提供一個方法把原本的資料復原,是防止數據損失的最後防線。

資料備份的原因 - 復原遺失的資料

儲存在硬盤中的資料可以有很多種遺失的方式,例如 :-

硬件故障 ;
作業系統損壞 , 例如:檔案系統的毀損 ;
自己不小心作了更改或者刪除 ;
外來入侵者蓄意更改或者刪除 ;
惡意軟件更改或者刪除。

備份資料的提示

確認儲存的數據。你應時常將自己不同程度重要性的數據加以歸類。重要數據的備份,尤其要經常地執行(例如:每日或每當資料有改動時)。
為敏感性資料加密。若你的資料裡包含有敏感性的數據,建議你對它進行加密。或者可利用一些商業軟件替資料加上密碼來保護,以防止未經授權的讀取與編輯。
避免將數據儲存在分散的地方。若部門間的數據可以儲存在接近的地方,那麼將會更容易去做數據的備份。例如:全部儲存在 "My Document" 資料夾或者另行分割的 "d:"分區之下。
選擇恰當的備份媒體。一般備份用的媒體包含了 :-
使用網絡備份(例如:可信的雲端存儲或具有獨立磁片冗餘陣列(RAID)1、5、6或10配置的網絡連接存儲),即使其中一個物理磁盤驅動器發生錯誤,數據也不會丟失。該磁盤可以是SSD(固態磁盤)或磁盤,具體取決於預算,寫入速度和所需容量。
可攜式 (外置的 )硬盤 - 視乎不同的機種,備份數據的容量可以達到數百 GB。它的速度快,簡單且便利。然而,你也必須注意一些實體損壞的問題,比方說它經不起劇烈的震動。建議可以使用SSD,因為它比機械設備更耐震和更快。
磁帶 - 只對有經驗的使用者或機構較有好處。它的操作較為複雜,需要 IT專家的專業知識。
列印正本文件 - 在某些情況下,你也許要把資料列印出來作備份之用。
監控你的備份過程。你應該時常檢查及監視你的備份過程。有些檔案經常會被你的電腦鎖定而不能被複製。此外,在執行備份之前,你必須時常確保你的電腦已清潔 - 有安裝著防惡意軟件。
保護你的備份。依照儲存媒體的差異,存放備份的地方各有不同。例如:
網絡附加存儲位於其他位置而非作業位置,例如具高可用性 SLA 及可信的雲端平台或災難恢復中心。
Flash drive與可攜式硬碟必須存放在乾燥與無靜電的環境中。
請教媒體製造商如何存放媒體,亦必須考慮實體上的保安事宜,以免讓自己的數據被偷走。將敏感與重要的數據與一般性的數據分隔開來,存放在不同的地方,才會是一個好的作業實務。
保留詳細目錄及清楚標示你的備份。寫下備份日期與備份資料內容的簡述,清楚地標示出來,才會是一個良好的作業實務。建立先前備份資料的檢索也有助於稍後的資料查詢。
核對與檢查你的數據復原程序。若你能夠以你的備份來復原數據,定期核對與檢查過程是必需要的。尤其是:
當你對你電腦中的作業系統以及軟件進行升級時。舉例說,你的 CDR光碟機與新的系統不一定相容。
也許可能會發生新的系統不支援原先文件格式的情況。
也許新的系統並不支援一些舊的媒體工具,例如:愈來愈少新電腦會安裝軟碟機,因此它們便不能從軟碟機上面取得資料。
棄置備份媒體,先謹慎處理。使用消磁器或物理手段破壞任何備份媒體前,包含存儲媒體的所有設備項目均應經過驗證,以確保在處置或重複使用之前,已刪除或安全覆蓋了所有敏感數據和許可軟件。

要學習其它備份與復原的相關知識,可點擊此處