Encrypting Your Data
Home > 
Encrypting Your Data
< back

Encrypting Your Data

Encryption is a process for scrambling and transforming data from an easily readable and understandable format (such as Plain Text) into an unintelligible format that seems to be useless and not readily understandable (known as Cipher Text).

Encryption techniques are used to protect data and enforce confidentiality during transmission and storage. Encryption is also used for e-commerce, wireless network security and remote access to prevent spoofing and eavesdropping. Data, files, emails, even whole hard disks can be encrypted.

Many schemes exist for the encryption of files, such as using a program's own encryption feature, an external hardware device, secret key encryption and public key encryption. These encryption schemes often involve the use of mathematical algorithms that are often called cryptographic algorithms, and the use of keys that are codes generated by these algorithms.

The primary use of an application's (e.g. word processor) encryption scheme such as password-protection is to hide a file or a column from curious individuals; however, this type of encryption can be easily broken, and hence it is not recommended for protection of sensitive information.

An alternative is to use an external encryption hardware device such as an encryption modem or router, but they must be correctly configured before use. Do not rely on the default settings as they come from the manufacturer, as they are sometimes not secure.

Secret key encryption shares the use of a single key. Both the sender and recipient use the same key and an encryption algorithm for encoding and decoding. Exchanging of the keys is necessary between the sender and the recipient.

Public key encryption involves the use of two keys, one public key that is made known to the recipient and the public, and one private key that is kept secretly by the owner. Most often the sender will use the recipient's public key to encode the data or message while the recipient will use his/her own private key to decode the data or message. There is no need to share the same key.

If keys are used for encryption, the keys used for performing encryption (secret key) or decryption(private key) must be kept secure and should not be readily accessed by unauthorised users. The stronger the encryption, the harder it is for a hacker to decrypt the codes. In general, the more bits of the key length used for encryption the stronger it will be. This means that a 128-bit key length is often recommended over a 64-bit key length, if same encryption algorithm is used.

There are encryption tools in the market that are used for different purposes. These tools can be in the form of software or hardware. Some are suitable for encrypting documents for storage, while some are good for transmission across a network, such as encrypting emails. The configuration and setup of these tools requires technical knowledge. In some countries, the encryption software or hardware requires an export license or approval for use. The selection and use of encryption software or hardware must be considered carefully to avoid breaking foreign regulations.

The following should be considered when selecting encryption tools:

Purpose of encryption e.g. files, emails or storage media
Operational requirements
Handling of temporary files
Ease of deployment
Ease of use
Key management and recovery
Future access needs to the information by other staff or trading partners

If you consider employing data encryption, you should consult IT service providers and experts who possess the necessary knowledge.

The following links provide more information about encryption:

加密你的資料
主頁 > 
加密你的資料
< 返回

加密你的資料

加密技術是一個把易於讀取和了解的數據格式(原文)加以更改及轉變的過程,使其轉為不可讀取的格式(加密文本),令人看起來是一組無用及難以了解的文本。

在傳輸及儲存數據和檔案時,用加密技術可保護數據並加強機密性。加密技術可用於電子商貿,無線網絡保安及遠程接達以避免欺騙及竊聽。數據、檔案、電郵、甚至整個磁碟也可以加密。

檔案加密的模式很多,例如使用程式自備的加密功能、外置硬件設備、保密匙加密、公開密碼匙加密等。這些檔案加密模式通常涉及用於一些被稱為“密碼算法”的數學算法,和根據這些算法而產生的密碼匙之用途上。

應用系統(例如文字處理器)的加密方案(例如密碼保護功能),主要用於保護檔案或檔案內的某欄內容免被他人窺看;但這類方案一般很容易被破解,所以不建議用於保護敏感的資料。

密碼以外的另一個選擇是使用外置加密硬件設備,例如加密調解器或路由器,但調解器或路由器的配置必須在使用前便設定。由於調解器或路由器的預設值來自製造商,有時較不安全,因此用戶不應依賴調解器或路由器的預設配置。

保密匙加密技術是共用同一把密碼匙的方案。發送者和接收者均使用相同的密碼匙編碼及解碼。雙方需要保管及共用同一把保密匙。因此必須在通訊渠道交換密碼匙。

公開密碼加密技術使用兩把密碼匙(公開及私人密碼匙)。公開密碼匙:對外公開,用來加密,而私人密碼匙:只限擁有人知情,用來解密。大多數發送者會利用公開密碼作為數據或信息編碼而接收者就利用私人密碼匙來解碼,因此不用分享同一把保密匙。

加密匙是用作執行加密(密碼匙)或解密 (私人密碼匙 )的,所以一定要把加密匙保密以及存放於不易為其他未經授權人仕接達的地方。加密程度越強就越難被黑客去解碼。一般來說,加密匙的長度越多位元,加密程度越高。所以,通常會建議在同一加密算法下使用128位元比較64位元的加密匙長度好。

市場上有很多不同用途的加密產品,這些產品可以是軟件或硬件。其中一些產品較適合為儲存文件加密,另外一些產品則適用於傳輸文件,如加密電郵。這些工具的安裝和設定是需要專業知識的。在一些國家,加密軟件或硬件需要牌照或批准才可使用,因此必需仔細考慮選擇及使用哪種加密軟件或硬件,以避免觸犯法例。

在挑選加密產品時可考慮以下因素 :

加密的目的如檔案,電郵或儲存媒體
操作要求
對臨時檔案的處理
部署的容易程度
使用的便利程度
密碼匙管理及復原
其他人員對資訊接達的未來需求。

若你考慮數據加密,你應該和具備知識的資訊科技服務供應商商議。

下列的連結提供更多關於加密的資料: