Protecting against Spam Emails
Home > 
Protecting against Spam Emails
< back

Protecting against Spam Emails

Spam has become a major problem for almost every email user. We all need to spend time cleaning away the massive amount of unwanted and unsolicited email messages everyday. Email users might also be charged by their Internet Service Provider (ISP) if their email account quota overflows with unsolicited email messages. Even worse, unsolicited email messages may carry malwares, indecent material, or try to fool you into giving away your personal information to fraudsters.

Unsolicited emails can also be deceptive and deliberately fraudulent in nature, leading to infection by malwares, identity theft, or even financial loss if instructions described in the messages are followed. Such fraudulent messages are called "scam emails".

Tips for End-users on Handling Spam Emails

Spammers collect your email address and verify that it is a valid address before they start sending spam emails to you. To reduce the possibility of receiving spam emails, you must protect your email address/account and your computer. The following are some tips:

1.
Be careful in disclosing your email address or personal information:
Do not disclose your personal information too readily, including your email addresses;
Check the privacy policy of websites or companies before you provide any personal information when filling out web registration forms, online surveys, etc. Look for options that allow you to unsubscribe from receiving emails on offers or other marketing information;
Be careful when subscribing to free email account services, especially when filling in the account profile. Check the terms and conditions of the email service, especially their privacy policy; and
Do not publish your email address on public websites, contact directories, membership directories, or chat rooms.
2.
Tips for using email account:
Whenever feasible, use separate email addresses for different purposes. For example, use one email address for public newsgroups or chat rooms, and another for personal email messages; and
Avoid using an email address that contains simple dictionary words, or common names. Spammers can use brute-force technique to guess valid email address at a specific domain using words from dictionaries, or combinations of common words.
3.
When checking your emails:
Don't be caught by the spammers' favourite tricks, such as the use of subject headings like "Remember me?" that try to trick you into thinking you should know the sender;
Be cautious when opening emails and email attachments, especially when receiving emails from strangers;
Simply delete emails from unknown senders or dubious sources because your reply or click on any link in the email message from an unknown source, you are confirming to the unknown sender that your email address is a valid one;
Check the "sent" folder or outgoing mailbox of your email programme (or webmail account) to see if there are any outgoing messages that were not sent by you. If there are such messages, your computer may have been hacked and used by spammers to send emails from your computer. You should disconnect from the Internet immediately and scan your computer with anti-malware software (make sure the software's definition files are up-to-date); and
4.
Tips for protecting your computer:
Use anti-spam solutions offered by ISPs or install email filters to reduce the amount of spam emails you receive;
Install and enable anti-malware software, and keep it up to date using the latest malware definition file. Enable real-time detection to scan for malwares for active processes, executables and document files that are being processed. Schedule a full system scan to run regularly, based on operational needs;
Install and enable personal firewall software; and
Apply the latest security patches/hot-fixes released by product vendors to the operating systems and/or applications installed in your computer.

What can you do if you receive a spam email?

If you receive any spam emails, you can:

Ignore and delete spam emails: this is the simplest and most effective way to handle spam emails. Never reply to spam emails;
Report the case to your Internet Service Provider (ISP) attaching the header of the spam email. Most ISPs have service terms that prohibit subscribers from using ISP services for spamming activities. Depending on the policy of your ISP, a spammer may be warned, have their service suspended or even terminated;
Report a any suspected contravention of the UEMO to Communications Authority (CA) if you suspect that there are professional spamming activities going on. If the spam emails contain suspected fraudulent or illegal information pretending to be sent from an identifiable organization such as a bank, you may also complain to the related organization; and
Consider discarding or shutting down your current email address and creating a new one if your email account becomes clogged with spam messages.

Beware of Email Scam

Apart from causing annoyance to recipients, unsolicited emails can also be deceptive and deliberately fraudulent in nature, leading to infection by malwares, identity theft, or even financial loss if instructions described in the messages are followed. Such fraudulent messages are called "scam emails".

In cases of email scam, the fraudsters hacked into the victim's email account, checked the victim’s business correspondence with business partners. They sent an email to the victim using the same or similar email account of his business partner and claimed that the payment bank account had been changed who further requested the victim to deposit the payment for goods into the fraudster’s designated bank account. Some victims have suffered significant amount of losses in some cases.

If you receive any suspicious emails, you should confirm the identity of the purported business partners or the authenticity of the requests by telephone, facsimile or other means before remittance so as to prevent from being deceived.
The Hong Kong Police Force also provides some advice for avoiding the traps set by these fraudulent emails.

防範濫發電郵
主頁 > 
防範濫發電郵
< 返回

防範濫發電郵

濫發電郵對每個電郵用戶來說都已經變成了一個問題。例如,電郵的終端用戶必需每天花時間去清理這些沒有必要且未經要求便發出的訊息。電郵接收者也有可能因為這些不必要的電子郵件訊息塞滿有容量限制的電子郵箱,而要向網絡服務供應商 (ISP) 支付額外的費用。甚至更糟糕的,這些未經要求便寄出的電郵甚至還可能帶有惡意軟件、猥褻內容,甚或誘騙沒有防禦意識的人交出他們的個人身份資料給非法的詐騙者。

這些未經要求就寄出的電子郵件本質上具有詐騙的特質,如果照著其指示去做的話,可能會導致感染病惡意軟件、身份被盜,甚或損失金錢。這種蓄意詐騙的訊息稱為 "騙案郵件"。

個人用戶處理濫發電郵的提示

濫發電郵發送者會收集你的電郵地址,並驗證它是否是一個有效的地址,然後開始發送電郵給你。所以,為了減少接收濫發電郵可能性,你必須保護你的電郵地址 / 帳戶及你的電腦。以下是一些提示:

1.
透露你的電郵地址或個人資料時要小心謹慎:
請不要輕易透露你的個人資料,包括你的電郵地址;
若要填寫網上登記表,網上調查等,在提供任何個人資料前,請仔細查閱網站或公司私隱政策聲明。留意可有選項讓你選擇終止接收產品介紹或其他推廣資料;
當申請免費電郵帳戶服務,特別在填寫用戶資料時,要小心謹慎。要細閱電郵服務的使用條款,尤其要留意私隱政策;和
不要在公開網站,聯絡人目錄、會員目錄或聊天室披露你的電郵地址。
2.
使用電郵帳戶的提示:
若情況許可,盡量使用不同的電郵地址作不同用途。舉例說,使用兩個不同的電郵地址分別作新聞組/聊天室和個人電郵通訊用途;和
避免使用字典裡簡單的字和通用的姓名作為電郵地址,濫發電郵者可以利用暴力攻擊的技術,在一個特定域名內用字典收錄的字,或組合的常用語,以猜測有效的電郵地址。
3.
當檢查你的電郵:
不要被濫發電郵者最常用的 " 你還記得我嗎? " 等此類標題所誤導,以免上當;
當打開電郵及電郵附件時,要小心,尤其是收到陌生人的電郵件;
簡單地刪除來歷不明或可疑電郵。如果您回覆或點擊來歷不明的電郵中的任何連結,你也向匿名寄件者證實你的電郵地址是一個有效的地址;
檢查電郵程式或網上電郵服務的外發電郵資料夾或寄件匣,留意是否有並非你發出的外發電郵。如果有這樣的訊息時,您的電腦可能已被駭客入侵,或被濫發電郵者用來發送電郵。你應立即中斷網路連線,並立即啟動防惡意軟件程式掃描你的電腦(請確保該軟件已安裝最新的惡意軟件定義檔);和
4.
保護你的電腦提示:
使用互聯網供應商提供的反濫發電郵措施或安裝過濾電郵的軟件,減少接收濫發電郵的數量;
安裝和啟動防惡意軟件,並不斷升級最新的惡意軟件定義檔。啟動即時偵測以掃描現行程式、執行程式及正在處理的檔案是否附帶惡意軟件,並根據操作需要,定期對系統進行全面掃描;
安裝和啟動個人防火牆軟件;和
在你的電腦的操作系統/應用系統安裝由產品供應商偍供的最新保安修補程式及/或修復程式。

如果收到濫發電郵應該如何處理?

如果你收到任何濫發電郵,您可以:

不理會並刪除濫發電郵:這是處理濫發電郵最簡單和最有效的方式。切勿回覆濫發電郵;
把問題通知你的互聯網服務供應商,並夾附濫發電郵的標頭資料。大多數供應商的服務條款均列明禁止用戶使用其服務濫發電郵。視乎個別供應商的政策,濫發電郵者可能會被警告、暫停以致終止服務;
如果你懷疑有職業濫發電子訊息活動正在進行,可向通訊事務管理局 ( 通訊局 ) 舉報任何涉嫌違反《非應邀電子訊息條例》規則的活動。如果濫發電郵包含涉嫌欺詐,或非法冒充可識別的機構(如銀行)發送的資訊,你也可以向有關機構投訴;和
如果你的電郵戶口已嚴重充斥濫發電郵訊息,請考慮停用你目前使用的電郵戶口,並轉用一個新設立的電郵戶口。

慎防電郵騙案

未經收件人同意的電子郵件,除了對收件人造成滋擾外,也可能含有行騙及欺詐的成分。如果跟從郵件裡的指令,可能會使你的電腦感染惡意軟件,身份資料被盜竊,甚至是金錢上損失。這樣的欺騙訊息稱為「詐騙電郵」。

於電郵騙案中,騙徒大多利用駭客技術入侵受害人電郵戶口,查看受害人與商業伙伴的電郵,再以相同或類似的電郵戶口向受害人發出電郵,聲稱付款銀行戶口已更改,並要求受害人將指定金額匯入騙徒指定的銀行戶口。有些受害人亦因此受騙,蒙受巨額金錢損失。

市民若收到可疑電郵,應在匯款前主動以電話、傳真或其他方式確認對方真正身分或該項要求的真確性,以防受騙。
香港警務處也在他們的網站上提供了一些建議來避開這些欺詐性的電郵所設的陷阱。