Handling Malware Outbreak
Home > 
Handling Malware Outbreak
< back

Handling Malware Outbreak

Given that attackers are now moving away from attacks that are merely a nuisance or destructive towards activity that is motivated by financial gain, malware attacks have become more sophisticated and a significant concern to organisations. A large-scale malware attack, often referred to as a malware outbreak, can cause widespread damage and disruption to an organisation, and necessitate extensive recovery time and effort. It is therefore crucial to implement adequate preventive measures, such as deploying protection and detection tools, to safeguard an organisation from malware attacks.

However, there is no such thing as bulletproof protection in the world of information security. It is also important that the organisation develop a robust information security incident procedure so that personnel are better prepared to handle malware outbreaks in a more organised, efficient and effective manner.

As defined in the Security Incident Handling for Company section, an incident response process should have three main stages: "Planning and Preparation", "Response" and "Aftermath". This section outlines the steps in the stages "Response" and "Aftermath" which are important to the complete handling of a malware outbreak. For more information about the "Planning and Preparation" stage, please refer to the section "Security Incident Handling for Company" mentioned above.

The "Response" Stage consists of the following five steps:

Detection and Identification

Determine fully if a malware outbreak has occurred.

The objective of this step is to determine whether a malware outbreak has occurred. Typical indications of a malware outbreak include any or all the following:

Users complain of slow access to the Internet, exhaustion of system resources, slow disk access, or slow system boots.
A number of alerts have been generated by a Host-based Intrusion Detection System (HIDS), or by anti-malware software.
There is significantly increased network usage.
A number of access violation entries have been noticed in perimeter router logs or firewall logs.
A surge of out-bounced SMTP traffic originating from an internal IP addresses has been detected.
A large number of port scans and failed connection attempts have been detected.
The system administrator notices an unusual deviation from typical network traffic flows.
Security controls such as anti-malware software and personal firewalls have been disabled on many hosts.
General system instability and crashes.

Upon discovery of any of the above symptoms, IT staff should immediately check and validate all suspicious activity to determine if an outbreak has occurred. Once it is confirmed that this is a malware security breach, it is important to collect information about the malware, as this will be essential for the containment and eradication process.

Information about the malware can be obtained from anti-malware software vendors' websites if the malware has been around for some time, by reviewing alerts from anti-malware software, by examining firewall and router log files. The following questions can help identify the characteristics of the malware:

What kind of malware is it (Network worm, mass-mailing worm, virus, or trojan horse etc.)?
How does the malware propagate (By attacking vulnerable network service? By mass mailing?)?
If the malware propagates by attacking vulnerable service, what is the vulnerability being exploited? Has a patch for addressing the vulnerability been released? What are the services or ports that are being attacked?
Does the malware plant backdoors on the infected system?
How can the malware be removed from the affected system? Are there any removal tools available?

Perform preliminary assessments

Once an outbreak is identified, IT staff should assess the scope, damage and impact of the outbreak in order to effectively deal with it.

Record all actions taken

IT staff should record all actions taken to deal with the outbreak and any corresponding results. This can facilitate incident identification and assessment, and provide evidence for prosecution or other useful information for subsequent incident handling stages. Logging should be carried out throughout the whole security incident response process.

Escalation

The second step in incident response is to notify all appropriate parties and escalate the incident to the appropriate level following a predefined escalation procedure. The information provided during the escalation process should be clear, concise, accurate and factual. Providing inaccurate, misleading or incomplete information may hinder the response process or may even worsen the situation. It is crucial to bear in mind that information about incident should be disclosed only on a need to know basis.

Containment

The third step of response to a malware incident is containment. The following are activities that should be carried out in the containment stage:

Identify infected systems
Clearly identifying the infected systems is always the first step in containment. Unfortunately it is also a very complicated process due to the dynamic nature of today's IT environment. The following are some suggestions that may help identify infected systems in a managed environment:
Perform thorough malware scanning on all the systems with the latest malware definitions as well as with updated anti-malware detection and repair engines. As no single anti-malware software can uncover all types of malware, it may be necessary to use more than one anti-malware scanning tool to ensure that all malwares are detected.
Review all log files of routers and firewalls.
Provide users with instructions on how to identify infections.
Configure IPS or IDS to identify activities associated with infections.
Perform packet sniffing routines to look for the network traffic matching the characteristics of the malware.
Contain the outbreak
Containing the outbreak can be done in various ways; the following are common tactics:
By using automated tools
Containing the spread of the malware can be done with automated tools, such as anti-malware software, IDS and IPS. If the malware is not detected by existing anti-malware protection systems, even with the latest definition applied, support from anti-malware software vendors should be sought to create a new definition which covers the malware.
By disabling connectivity
A malware outbreak can be effectively contained by quickly disconnecting infected systems from the overall network infrastructure, which can be accomplished by applying access controls on network devices or physically disconnecting network cables. In some cases, in order to contain the spread of malware to other sections of the organisation, it may be necessary to temporarily disconnect the network segments concerned from the network backbone. However, this containment strategy will certainly affect the operation of other non-infected systems in the segment.
By disabling services
Malware may propagate through network services, for example network shared drives. Temporarily blocking or even shutting down the network services used by malwares helps to contain incidents.
By eliminating vulnerability
Malware may spread by attacking vulnerable network services. By addressing the vulnerabilities that have been exploited by the malware, such as applying security patches on vulnerable systems, the propagation channels can be eliminated, hence containing the spread. In addition, some mis-configuration, such as loose access controls on network-shared drives, can also be leveraged by malware. By rectifying any mis-configurations, the spread of a malware can be contained.
By user participation
User participation is significant to the containment process in an environment where only a limited number of technical support staff are available to handle an outbreak, for example in small remote branch offices or in a non-managed office environment. Users should be provided with clear instructions on how to identify infections and what measures should be taken if a system is confirmed infected, such as running the anti-malware removal tools on the infected system.
Keep records of all actions taken
It is important to keep a solid record of all actions taken at this stage, because some containment measures may require temporary modifications to the configuration or settings of network infrastructure and systems. These modifications will need to be removed after the incident.

It is important to understand that stopping further infection by the malware does not necessarily prevent the further damage to infected systems. For instance, the infection can be contained through disabling network connectivity. Yet, the malware may be still actively deleting files on the infected system. Therefore, a full eradication process should be carried out as soon as possible or in parallel with the containment process.

Eradication

Eradicating a malware outbreak should be designed to remove the malware from all infected systems and media, and rectify the cause of the infection. Prior to carrying out the eradication process, it is advisable to collect all necessary information, including all log files, which may have to be deleted or reset during the clean up process, which will be useful in subsequent investigations.

Anti-malware scanning software and removal tools are commonly used as the primary means of eradication. However, in some cases, it may be necessary to rebuild infected systems from scratch. For instance, if the malware has downloaded and planted a backdoor on infected systems, rebuilding all systems may be the most reliable action to be taken in order to restore the integrity of the systems. Rebuilding a system generally includes the following actions:

Reinstalling the system from a trusted source, such as system installation disk or trusted, clean system image.
Securing newly installed systems, such as checking and ensuring that the latest definitions as well as the updated anti-malware detection and repair engines, and necessary security patches have been applied on each machine.
Restoring data from known, clean backup media.
Recovery

Clearly, the main purpose of the recovery step is to restore all systems to normal operation. In a malware outbreak, recovering the functionality and data of infected systems may have already been carried as part of the eradication process. Apart from restoring the infected systems, removing any temporary containment measures, such suspended network connections, is another main aspect of the recovery process.

Prior to removal of the containment measures, one important step is a pre-production security risk assessment to ensure that no infection is detected, and that the cause of the original infection is rectified.

All related parties should be notified before the resumption of suspended services. IT personnel should restore specific functions and servers stage by stage, in a controlled manner, and in the order of demand, e.g. the most essential services or those serving the majority should resume first. After resuming the suspended services, it is important to verify that the restoration operation has been successful and that all services are back to normal operation. Additional monitoring measures may be implemented to watch for any suspicious activity in the network segments concerned.

Aftermath

Restoring infected systems to normal operation does not mark the end of a malware outbreak. It is also important to perform necessary follow up action. This may include full evaluation of the damage caused, system refinements to prevent recurrence of the incident, updates to security policies and procedures, and investigation of the case for subsequent prosecution. Activities in this stage can include the following:

Review the effectiveness of existing malware protection procedures and mechanisms, including central control and management on malware definitions distribution and detection and repair engine update, scheduled regular malware scanning, etc.
Update relevant policies, guidelines and procedures whenever necessary.
Enforce the new security measures introduced in the reviewed policy / guidelines / procedures to protect systems against future attacks.
Remind users to follow security best practices, such as not opening email from unknown/suspicious email sources, updating security patches and malware definitions on a regular basis and whenever necessary, etc.

處理惡意軟件爆發
主頁 > 
處理惡意軟件爆發
< 返回

處理惡意軟件爆發

由於攻擊者的動機是基於經濟掠奪,他們的攻擊形式也不只是騷擾或破壞活動而已。惡意軟件攻擊已經變得更複雜,甚至成為機構一項嚴重的隱憂。大規模惡意軟件攻擊, 經常是指惡意軟件爆發,會導致機構廣泛的損害與崩潰,這是需要很長的復原時間與努力。 因此採取適當的預防步驟是很重要的,例如裝設保護與偵測工具,以保衛機構不受到惡意軟件的攻擊。

然而,在資訊保安世界裡並沒有所謂的「防彈保護」。 機構發展功能強大的資訊保安事故處理程序尤其重要, 如此一來行政人員才更能夠以更具組織化,更方便及更有效的方式做足準備,好處理惡意軟件的爆發。

公司保安事故處理部份中所定義的,一個事故應變程序應該有三個階段:「規劃和準備」,「應變」及「事後跟進」。 本篇列舉「應變」及「事後跟進」階段的步驟,這對於完善處理惡意軟件爆發是很重要的。 關於「規劃和準備」階段更多的資訊,請參閱上述的「公司保安事故處理」部份。

「應變」階段包括下列五個步驟:

偵測與確認

確認惡意軟件爆發是否已經發生。

這個步驟的目標是要確定是否已經發生惡意軟件爆發。惡意軟件爆發的典型徵兆包含下列的一些或全部狀況:

用戶抱怨接達互聯網緩慢,系統資源減少,磁碟接達緩慢,或系統啟動緩慢;
主機入侵偵測系統( HIDS), 或抗惡意軟件偵測軟件產生一些警告;
網絡的使用明顯增加;
周邊路由器或防火牆已經記錄到一些違反接達進入;
偵測到來源於內部互聯網規約地址的對外簡單郵遞傳送規約 (SMTP)通訊激增;
偵測到大量的埠掃描以及連結失敗的企圖;
系統管理者注意到不尋常的典型網絡通訊流來源;
許多主機上的保安控制如抗惡意軟件與個人防火牆遭到關閉;
一般性的系統不穩定與失敗;

若發現上述的任何一項徵兆,資訊科技人員應該立即檢查並驗證所有可疑活動,以便確定爆發是否發生。一旦確認這是惡意軟件引致的違反保安事件,蒐集關於該惡意軟件的資訊是很重要的,因為這是遏制與杜絕程序所必需的。

若這種惡意軟件已經從抗惡意軟件偵測軟件的覆檢以及防火牆與路由器記錄檔檢查中得知存在一段時間,就可以從抗惡意軟件經銷商網站獲得該惡意軟件的資訊。下列問題能夠幫助辨別惡意軟件的特徵:

這是那一種類的惡意軟件(網絡蠕蟲、大量郵件蠕蟲、電腦病毒、或是特洛伊木馬等)?
這種惡意軟件如何散播(透過具漏洞的網絡服務攻擊?還是透過大量郵件?)?
如果惡意軟件透過攻擊具漏洞的網絡服務來散播,那什麼漏洞會遭到攻擊?處理該漏洞的修補程式是否已經公布?什麼服務或埠會遭到攻擊?
惡意軟件是否在受感染的系統上植入後門
如何從受影響的系統上移除惡意軟件?有任何可用的移除工具嗎?

執行初步評估

一旦一項爆發已經辨別出來,資訊科技人員應該評估爆發的範圍、損害及衝擊,以便做有效處理。

記錄所有採取的措施

資訊科技人員應該記錄所有處理爆發的採取措施以及任何反應的結果。這些記錄有助確認和評估事故,為檢控提供證據,並為及後的事故處理階段提供有用的資料。整個保安事故應變過程都應保留記錄。

升級處理

事故應變的第二階段是通知適當的人員,並根據既定的升級處理程序將事故提升到適當的級別。升級處理程序所提供的資訊應該要清楚,簡要,準確並符合事實。提供不準確的、誤導的或不完整的資訊可能會延誤應變程序或甚至可能使情況惡化。務必緊記,關於事故的資訊應該只在需要知道的基礎上被揭露。

遏制

惡意軟件事故應變的第三階段是遏制。下列事項是遏制階段所應該執行的活動:

確認受感染系統
清楚確認受感染系統總是遏制的第一步驟。不幸地,基於目前資訊科技環境的動態特性,這也是非常複雜的程序。下列的建議可以在管理環境中協助確認受感染的系統:
使用最新惡意軟件定義檔以及更新過的抗惡意軟件偵測與修復引擎,在所有系統上執行完整的惡意軟件掃描。 因為沒有任何單一抗惡意軟件偵測工具能夠涵蓋所有種類的惡意軟件,所以需要使用一種或以上的抗惡意軟件掃描工具,以確保能夠偵測到所有的惡意軟件;
複查所有路由器與防火牆的記錄檔;
提供如何確認感染的指引給用戶;
配置 IPS或 IDS以辨認與感染相關的活動;
執行封包追蹤 (packet sniffing),以尋找符合惡意軟件特徵的網絡通訊。
遏制爆發
遏制爆發可以有好幾種方式進行;以下是一般常見策略:
使用自動化工具
像抗惡意軟件偵測工具, IDS與 IPS等自動化工具可以遏制惡意軟件的散播。 倘使現存的抗惡意軟件保護系統無法偵測到惡意軟件,甚至應用最新定義檔也無效時, 就應該尋找抗惡意軟件供應商的支援, 以建立可以涵蓋惡意軟件的新定義檔。
中斷網絡連接
立刻切斷受感染系統與整個網絡的連接,可以有效遏制惡意軟件爆發。 可以透過在網絡裝置上加上接達控制,或實體地切斷網絡導線中斷網絡的連接。 某些情況下,為了遏制惡意軟件散播到機構的其他區域,暫時將網絡段從主幹網絡上切斷是必要的。 無論如何,遏制策略將一定會影響該網絡與其他未受感染系統的作業。
停用服務
惡意軟件會透過網絡服務,如可分享的網絡磁碟等來散播。 暫時性地堵截或甚至關閉被惡意軟件利用的網絡服務可協助遏制事故。
消除漏洞
惡意軟件會透過攻擊具漏洞的網絡服務而散播。 比方像安裝保安修補程式在具漏洞的系統上,來處理甚至已遭惡意軟件盤剝的漏洞,消除繁殖的管道, 進而遏制惡意軟件的散播。此外,某些如可分享網絡磁碟喪失接達控制等錯誤配置,也會被惡意軟件利用。 矯正任何的錯誤配置可以遏制惡意軟件的散播。
用戶的參與
像在一個小型遠端分部辦公室或非管理辦公室環境中,可處理爆發的技術支援人員是有限的, 用戶參與的效果在這個時候對於遏制程序就十分顯著。 當系統確定遭到感染時,應提供用戶如何確認感染以及該採取什麼步驟的清楚指示, 例如在受感染系統上執行抗惡意軟件移除工具。
保存所有已採取行動的記錄
在這個階段保存所有已採取行動的記錄是很重要的,因為某些遏制步驟需要對網絡基建與系統的配置或設定作暫時性修改。 這些修改在事故之後需要移除。

最重要,是要瞭解停止了惡意軟件的進一步感染並不代表防止了受感染系統被進一步的損害。 例如,停用網絡連接可以遏制感染,然而,惡意軟件仍可刪除受感染系統上的檔案。 因此,要盡快地或與遏制程序同步進行完整的杜絕程序。

杜絕

杜絕惡意軟件爆發應從所有受感染的系統與媒體上移除惡意軟件,並且矯正感染的結果。 在執行杜絕程序之前,建議先蒐集所有必要資訊,包括可能必須在刪除程序裡刪除或重設所有的記錄檔, 然而這對於事後跟進調查是有幫助的。

杜絕的基本方法,一般是使用抗惡意軟件掃描軟件以及移除工具。 然而,在某些情況下,重新安裝受感染系統是必要的。 例如,當惡意軟件已在受感染系統上植入後門時,為了復原系統的完整性,重新安裝所有受感染的系統會是最值得信賴的行動。 系統重建一般包括下列幾個行動:

從可信賴來源重新安裝系統,如系統安裝片或可信賴且乾淨的系統像;
確保新安裝的系統安全,如檢查並確保最新惡意軟件定義檔以及更新的抗惡意軟件偵測與修復引擎,加上必要的保安修補程式,應用於每一台機器上;
從未受染的備份媒體上復原資料。
復原

這個階段的主要目的是將系統復原至正常運作狀態。很多時候,「杜絕」及「復原」階段都是不能分割,因為受感染的系統的功能及其資料已在「杜絕」階段中被恢復。 除了復原受感染系統,移除所有暫時性的遏制措施,例如被暫時中斷的網絡接連,是復原程序中另一個主要部分。

在移除遏制措施前,其中的一項重要工作是進行生產前保安評估,以確已沒有系統受到感染,並確定感染的根源已被刪除。

在恢復系統操作前,應事先通知所有相關人士。在受控制的情況下,資訊科技人員應該按照需求的緩急次序逐步恢復功能/服務,例如可優先恢復最重要的服務或以大多數人為對象的服務。 復原中止服務之後,其中的一項重要工作是檢驗復原操作是否成功,系統是否已恢復正常操作。 另外還可以實施額外的監視措施,以觀察相關網絡區段有否任何可疑的活動。

「事後跟進」階段

受感染的系統恢復正常操作並不代表惡意軟件爆發處理程序的結束。 採取必要的跟進行動十分重要。 跟進行動包括評估事故所造成的破壞、系統改良以防止再度發生事故、保安政策和程序更新及為日後的檢控進行個案調查。這個階段的行動包括下列事項:

檢驗現存惡意軟件保護程序與機制的有效性,包括了惡意軟件定義檔分佈與偵測修復引擎的更新,定期規律的惡意軟件掃描等的中央控制與管理。
在需要時更新相關政策,指引與程序。
執行經檢驗政策 / 指引 / 程序後所引進新的保安措施,以保護系統對抗未來的攻擊。
提醒用戶遵循保安最佳作業實務,如不可從未知 / 可疑的電子郵件來源開啟郵件,養成需要時就更新保安修補程式與惡意軟件定義的習慣等等。