Deploying of Corporate Wireless Network
Home > 
Deploying of Corporate Wireless Network
< back

Deploying of Corporate Wireless Network

In terms of cost effectiveness and convenience, wireless networks have gained in popularity among organisations. But new security risks come with the benefits of adopting wireless networks in an organisation. To tackle these risks effectively, various security best practices need to be considered throughout the entire deployment lifecycle. To help organisations understand at what point in their wireless network deployments a recommended security best practice might be relevant, we outline here a five-phase lifecycle model for network deployment and point out security issues that need special attention.

Initialisation Phase

Determine the Business and Functional Requirements for the Use of the Wireless Network
Before designing the wireless network, it is important to understand the business and functional requirements of the wireless solution. These requirements may affect decisions on what kind of security measures should be deployed to protect the network. For example, if guest access will be required, security best practices for guest access should be considered in the design stage.
Define a Wireless SecurityPolicy
The organisation should develop a strong wireless security policy to address all the usage options of wireless networks and the types of information that can be transmitted. The policy should outline a framework for the development of installation, protection, management and usage procedures. Security and operation guidelines, standards and personnel roles should also be clearly defined.

Design/Procuremen Phase

Keep Track of Wi-Fi Development Standards
Since the 802.11 standard was first introduced, enhancements have continuously been made to strengthen data rates, signal range, and security of wireless networks. Therefore, it is a good idea to keep track of the development of new standards as they appear, in particular when procuring new equipment or acquiring new wireless network services. In any new purchase, protection by one of the stronger wireless security protocols such as WPA2 or WPA3 should be considered, but by no means should such wireless security protocols be solely relied upon to protect data confidentiality and integrity, as new weaknesses in protocols may be discovered in the future.
Perform Security RiskAssessments and Audits to Identify Security Vulnerabilities
Security assessments and audits are essential means for checking the security status of a wireless network and identifying any corrective action necessary to maintain an acceptable level of security. These assessments can help identify loopholes in the wireless network, such as poorly configured access points using default or easily guessed passwords and SNMP community strings, or the presence or absence of encryption. However, a security risk assessment can only give a snapshot of the risks to information systems at a given time. As a result, it is important to perform assessments and audits regularly once the wireless network is up and running.
Perform Site Surveys
Due to the nature of radio frequency (RF) propagation, radio signal emissions cannot generally be contained within a particular building or location. Excessive coverage by the wireless signal could pose significant threat to the organisation, opening it to parking lot attacks on the network. Therefore, it is necessary to have a good understanding of the coverage requirements for the desired wireless network during the network-planning phase. By performing a site survey, one can identify:
the appropriate technologies to apply;
obstacles to avoid, eliminate, or work around;
coverage patterns to adopt; and
amount of capacity needed.
Apply a Defence-in-Depth Approach
The concept of "defence-in-depth" has been widely employed in the secure design of wired networks. The same concept can also be applied to wireless networks. By implementing multiple layers of security, the risk of intrusion via a wireless network is greatly reduced. If an attacker breaches one measure, additional measures and layers of security remain in place to protect the network.
Separation of wireless and wired network segments, use of strong device and user authentication methods, application of network filtering based on addresses and protocols, and deployment of intrusion detection systems on the wireless and wired networks are all possible measures that can be employed to build multiple layers of defence.
Separate Wireless Networks from Wired Networks
Due to the nature of wireless technology, wireless networks are relatively hard to contain within a building and it is generally considered to be an un-trusted network. As a best practice, wireless networks and wired networks should not be directly connected to each other. It is common to deploy firewalls to separate and control the traffic between different networks. For example, ARP broadcast packets should be blocked from entering a wired network from a wireless network since a malicious user could uncover internal information, such as Ethernet MAC address from these broadcasts.
Segment the Access Point's Coverage Areas
Due to the limited transmission capacity of a wireless network, a malicious attacker can easily launch a Denial-of-Service (DoS) attack to bring down the network. Segmenting access point coverage areas can balance the loads on a wireless network and minimise any impact from DoS attacks.

Implementation Phase

Implement Strong Physical Security Controls
The loss or theft of network equipment may pose a significant threat to a wireless network because configuration of the network can be retrieved from a lost access point or wireless interface card. By securely mounting network equipment, such as access points, in less accessible locations together with strong physical security controls, the risk of theft can be minimised.
Avoid Excessive Coverage of Wireless Networks
Using the information collected during the site survey, proper placement of access points can be designed to avoid excessive coverage by the wireless network and hence limit the possibility of intrusion. In addition to proper placement of the access points, adjusting the radio frequency (RF) power transmission or using directional antennas can also control the propagation of the RF signal and hence control coverage of a wireless network.
Secure Access Points
Access points are the core of a wireless network. Their security clearly has an overall effect on the security of the wireless network. Properly securing access points is the first step in protecting a wireless network. The following suggestions can help in hardening access points:
Change the default configuration settings;
Change encryption keys regularly;
Ensure that all access points have strong, unique administrative passwords and change the passwords regularly;
Disable all insecure and unused management protocols on access points and configure the remaining management protocols for least privilege;
Activate logging features and direct all log entries to a remote logging server;
Enable wireless threshold parameters, such as inactivity timeouts and maximum supported associations.
Use Non-suggestive Service Set Identifier (SSID) Naming Conventions
In a wireless network, an SSID serves as a network name for segmenting networks. A client station must be configured with the correct SSID in order to join a network. The SSID value is broadcast in beacons, probe requests and probe responses. To prevent a malicious attacker from collecting reconnaissance information on a wireless network by eavesdropping, SSIDs should not reflect internal information of the organisation.
Disable Direct Client-to-Client "Ad-Hoc Mode" Transmissions
In general, a wireless network can be operated using three different topologies; infrastructure mode, ad-hoc mode and bridging mode. When a wireless network operates in ad-hoc mode, client stations are connected directly and no access point is required. Using this mode, a potential attacker can gain access to a client station easily if the client station is improperly configured. Unless there is a specific business need, the ad-hoc mode should be disabled on wireless devices.
Limit Client-to-Client Communication through the Access Point
Most installed wireless networks operate in "infrastructure" mode that requires the use of one or more access points. With this configuration, all traffic in the wireless network travels through the access points. By controlling the communication among client stations at the access points, malicious users can be prevented from gaining access to vulnerable client stations.
Keep Security Patches Up-to-date
Newly discovered security vulnerabilities in vendor products should be patched to prevent inadvertent and malicious exploits. Patches should also be tested before deployment so as to ensure they work correctly.
Employ MAC Address Filtering on Access Points
MAC address filtering can be considered the first layer of defence for wireless networks. With MAC address filtering enabled, only devices with pre-approved MAC addresses can see the network and be granted access to the network. However, such access control should by no means be solely relied upon to protect data confidentiality and integrity, as tools are available on the Internet for modifying the MAC address of a client. Besides, MAC address filtering mechanisms may not be feasible in some scenarios such as the implementation of public wireless hotspots.
Deploy Wireless intrusion detection systems
Deploying wireless intrusion detection systems on the network can help detect and respond to malicious activities in a timely manner. More recently, a number of wireless intrusion detection systems have been equipped with capabilities to detect and prevent rogue access points.

Operations And Maintenance Phase

Educate Users about the Risks of Wireless Technology
User awareness is always a critical success factor in effective information security. A good policy is not enough. It is also important to educate all users in following the policy. Best practices or security guidelines should be developed that end users understand and adhere to.
Keep an Accurate Inventory of All Wireless Devices
An accurate inventory of all authorised wireless devices helps identify rogue access points during security audits. This inventory will also be helpful for a variety of support tasks.
Publish a Coverage Map of the Wireless Network
Network administrators should develop a coverage map of the wireless network, including locations of respective access points and SSID information. This map is a valuable asset for troubleshooting, or handling a security incident.
Develop Security Configuration Standards for Access Point
To simplify daily operations and ensure all access points are protected with appropriate measures, it is recommended a baseline security configuration standard for access points be developed. It is not uncommon to see security settings restored to their default factory settings after an access point is reset, which usually occurs when the access point experiences an operational failure. If a baseline security configuration standard is available, appropriate personnel can simply follow the standard settings to re-configure the access point.
Review Audit Logs Regularly
Regular checking of log records must be performed, to ensure the completeness and integrity of all logs. Any irregularities spotted must be reported and a detailed investigation should be carried out if necessary.
Develop Incident Response Procedures
It is recommended that administrators develop a set of in-house procedures for incident response, and update these procedures from time to time to address new potential security threats.

Disposition Phase

Remove All Sensitive Configuration Information before Disposal
When disposing of wireless components, it is important to erase all sensitive configuration information, such as pre-shared keys and passwords, on the devices that are being disposed of. Malicious users might make use of the configuration information to conduct subsequent attacks on the network. Manual removal of configuration settings through the management interface is a must prior to disposal. Organisations may also consider degaussing devices whenever feasible. Secure deletion utilities can also be used if devices have storage disks.

机构无线网络的部署
主页 > 
机构无线网络的部署
< 返回

机构无线网络的部署

使用无线网络可带来成本效益及方便,令它在大小机构中的应用日趋普遍。无线网络的应用虽然有不少好处,却同时带来新的保安风险。要有效地减低这些风险,在无线网络方案的整个发展周期中,应考虑各种保安最佳作业实务。为协助机构了解在无线网络推行期间的最佳作业实务,我们会以一个分为五个阶段的网络发展周期作为基础,逐步指出保安方面需要特别注意的重点。

推出阶段

就使用无线网络厘定业务及功能的需求
在设计无线网络前,须了解无线方案业务及功能的需求,因为这些需求可能会影响应采取的网络保护措施。例如,倘若容许非注册用户接达系统,在设计阶段便应考虑相关的最佳保安作业实务。
订立无线保安政策
机构应制订一套稳建的无线保安政策,以处理使用无线网络的问题及厘定可传送的资料种类。该政策应描述一个制订安装丶保护丶管理和使用程序的架构,以及订立保安与运作指引丶标准和各员工的职责。

设计/采购阶段

留意 Wi-Fi 标准的发展
自从 802.11 标准推出并不断加以改良,数据传输率丶讯号范围和无线网络的保安都得以加强,因此,当采购新设备或获取新的无线网络服务时,最好时常留意新标准的发展。在采购新设备时,应考虑以较安全的无线保安规约如 WPA2 或 WPA3 作保护。由於日後可能在这些规约中发现新的保安漏洞,故不能只依赖这些保安规约作为确保资料保密性和完整性的唯一措施。
进行保安风险评估及审计以识别保安漏洞
保安风险评估及审计是检查无线网络安全程度的重要方法,用以确定所需的修正措施,维持可接受的保安水平。这些方法有助於识别无线网络的漏洞,例如使用预设或易猜的密码和简单网络管理规约(SNMP)的社群字串的无线接驳点,以及侦测是否已启动加密功能等。然而,保安风险评估只能揭示资讯系统於某一段时间的部份风险,故在无线网络运作後,应定期进行风险评估及审计。
进行实地调查
基於射频(RF)的性质,无线网络讯号一般不会受楼宇阻隔。无线讯号的覆盖范围过大,可能会对网络构成重大威胁如停车场攻击。因此,在网络策划阶段中,应充份了解无线网络的覆盖范围要求并进行实地调查,以便确定:
适宜采用的技术;
须避免丶删除或处理的障碍;
应采用的覆盖模式;及
需要的容量。
采用纵深防御方式
有线网络的保安设计,一直广泛采用「纵深防御」的概念,这原理亦适用於无线网络。经采取多重保安措施後,无线网络遭成功入侵的风险将大幅减少。如一项措施受袭,尚有多重保安措施可保护网络。
分隔无线与有线网络数据段丶使用强化的装置及用户认证方法丶依据位址及规约作出网络过滤,以及对无线与有线网络进行监视和入侵侦测,均是多重防御的措施。
分隔无线网络与有线网络
基於无线技术的特质,无线网络比较难以受楼宇阻隔,故一般被视为不可靠的网络。连接网络时,最佳的作业实务是有线和无线网络不应直接连接在一起。防火墙的安装通常用於分隔和控制不同网络的通讯。譬如,有线网络的 ARP 广播封包不应传送至无线网络,否则恶意用户便可揭露内部信息,例如这些广播的以太网 MAC 位址。
无线接驳点的覆盖范围分段
由於无线网络的传送容量有限,恶意攻击者可轻易进行拒绝服务(DoS)攻击,使网络停顿。把无线接驳点的覆盖范围分段,可平衡无线网络的负荷,并减少 DoS 攻击的影响。

实施阶段

推行有效的实体保安管制
网络设备的遗失可能会对无线网络构成重大威胁,因为网络的配置可从遗失的无线接驳点或无线界面卡中取得。把网络设备如无线接驳点安全地放置在不容易接触的位置,并加设有效的实体保安管制,被窃的风险便会减少。
避免无线网络的覆盖范围过大
从实地调查收集资料後,便可设计放置无线接驳点的位置,以免无线网络的覆盖范围过大,因而减少遭入侵的机会。此外,调较传送的射频功率(RF)或使用定向天线,亦可控制传送的射频讯号,从而控制无线网络的覆盖范围。
保障无线接驳点的安全
无线接驳点是无线网络的核心,它们是否安全,对无线网络的整体保安有一定的影响。要保护无线网络,首先要确保无线接驳点的安全。以下是加强管理无线接驳点安全的一些建议:
更改配置的预设值;
定期更换密码匙;
确保所有无线接驳点均有安全而独立的管理密码,并定期更换密码;
关闭无线接驳点上所有不安全及未使用的管理规约,并以最小权限配置馀下的管理规约;
启动记录功能,并把记录传送至远程记录伺服器;
启动无线基本参数,例如静止逾时及支援结合
使用难以联想到的服务设定识别码(SSID)命名常规
无线网络中, SSID 用作分段网络的网络名称,客户端须配置正确的 SSID 才能接达网络。 SSID 值会显示位标丶探测请求及深测回应广播,因此,为免恶意攻击者在无线网络装置窃取侦察资料, SSIDs 不应反映机构的内部资料。
关闭客户端与客户端之间的「临机操作模式」传送功能
一般而言,无线网络可透过三种不同方式运作:基建丶临机操作及桥路模式。利用临机操作模式运作时,客户端之间可直接连接而不同无线接驳点。如客户端配置不善,攻击者不费吹灰之力便可接达客户端。因此,除非有特别的业务需要,否则应关闭无线装置的临机操作模式。
限制客户端与客户端之间透过无线接驳点的通讯
大部份无线网络以「基建」模式运作,需要使用一个或以上无线接驳点,所有网络交通均穿越无线接驳点。透过控制无线接驳点的客户端通讯,可防止恶意用户接达易受破坏的客户端。
保持最新的保安修补程式
电脑产品新发现的保安漏洞应即时修补,以免受到无意或恶意的攻击。修补程式在使用前亦应先进行测试,以确保能有效运作。
在无线接驳点实施 MAC 位址过滤
MAC位址过滤可视作无线网络的第一层保护。启动过滤功能後,只有获授权的装置才可使用网络。由於互联网上有工具可修改 MAC 位址,故不可单靠这种接达控制方式来保护数据的保密性和完整性。此外, MAC 位址过滤机制在一些情况下并不适用,例如实施公共无线热点的时候。
采用无线入侵侦测系统
在网络上采用无线入侵侦测系统,有助及时侦测恶意破坏活动和作出回应。现时,一些无线入侵侦测系统更备有可侦测及预防非法无线接驳点的功能。

操作及维修保养阶段

教育用户无线技术的风险
用户知悉风险所在,往往是确保资讯保安的成功关键。完善的政策并不足够,教育用户遵行政策同样重要,故应订定最佳作业实务或保安指引,让终端用户了解和跟随。
备存所有无线装置的详细清单
一份准确的获授权使用的无线装置清单,有助於在保安审计时确定非法的无线接驳点,以及进行不同的支援工作。
公布无线网络的覆盖图
网络管理员应建立无线网络的覆盖图,包括各无线接驳点的位置和 SSID资料。当发生保安事故,这覆盖图对於解决问题将会起很大的作用。
订立无线接驳点的保安配置标准
为简化日常工序,并确保各无线接驳点受适当的措施保护,建议为无线接驳点订立基准保安配置标准。当无线接驳点运作故障,常见的做法是将其重设到预设值。如订立了基准保安配置标准,有关人员只需要按照标准便可重新配置无线接驳点。机构必须定期检查审核记录,以确保记录齐全完整。如发现不寻常情况必须作出汇报,并且有需要时应进行详细调查。
定期检查审核记录
机构必须定期检查审核记录,以确保记录齐全完整。如发现不寻常情况必须作出汇报,并且有需要时应进行详细调查。
订定保安事故应变程序
建议管理员订定一套内部保安事故应变程序,以及不时更新以处理新的潜在保安威胁。

弃置阶段

弃置装置前删除所有敏感资料
在弃置无线组件时,紧记删除装置上所有的敏感配置资料,例如共享密码匙和密码。如恶意用户取得这些资料,便可用作攻击网络。因此,在弃置装置前必须透过管理界面以人手删除配置设定。机构可考虑在可行情况下为设备消磁,如有硬磁碟装置,亦可使用安全删除工具。