e-Authentication Methods
Home > 
e-Authentication Methods
< back

e-Authentication Methods

There are three basic authentication factors (i.e. “what the user knows”, “what the user has”, and “what the user is or does”) commonly referred to in an authentication system. Two-factor authentication refers to the use of two authentication factors in combination for verifying the identity of the user, and it is in general more secure than single-factor authentication. While fraudsters may be able to capture a user’s password over the Internet, it would be difficult for them to get hold of the user’s smart card or mobile phone via the network. As a means to tackle the increasing threat of identity theft, most local banks have already implemented two-factor authentication for conducting high-risk Internet banking transactions.

The following sections describe some common methods that can be used in an authentication system.

Password- and PIN-based Authentication

Passwords and PINs are most commonly used in a knowledge-based (“what the user knows”) authentication method. The longer the password, the stronger is the protection. A long password is sometimes called a pass-phrase. As a best practice for security, strong passwords that contain combinations of numbers, symbols and mixed cases should be enabled as far as possible in an authentication system. In order to protect the passwords (and other authentication information) during the course of transmission, the TLS feature, which can create an encrypted channel for data exchange, should also be enabled for the authentication systems.

Currently, most of the security attacks are targeting password-based authentication systems. Cases have been reported of user IDs and passwords being stolen by fraudsters through phishing emails, fake websites, Trojan software and other malicious software. Since such attacks focus on the end-user side, raising the awareness of users is very important so that they can protect their own interests in daily transactions.

Unusual knowledge-based methods can also be adopted based on visual images (graphical password). One example is that a user is presented with a series of five randomly generated life-like images and the user repeatedly picks out the images from a series of grids filled with more images. By picking the correct images, the user has actually typed in his/her password.

Only a managed password system governed by a proper password policy is considered sufficient for applications that require Assurance Level 2.

PKI-based Authentication

Public key infrastructure (PKI) is a management framework for enabling deployment of public key cryptography. Public-key cryptography provides an authentication method that uses a key pair, a private key and a public key. A private key is known to the user only and is never shared with any other servers or users. A public key is recognised by a public-key certificate issued by a Certification Authority and is available to any users or servers.

Public-key authentication can be implemented as a hardware or software token under different situations. As a soft token, the private key is stored in the keystore of the operating system or as an encrypted file in a data storage device. Some implementations will store the private key in a hard token (such as a smart card) and the possession of the token is mandatory in the authentication process. Since the private key cannot be exported from the hard token (i.e. there will only be one copy of the key), loss of the key can be more easily detected and remedied. The activation of the token will need the entry of a password or biometrics which can verify the legitimate user.

It should be noted that public-key solutions can also provide an additional security protection using “digital signature” for critical transactions. By digitally signing the submitted data, the integrity and non-repudiation aspects (in addition to authenticity) of the transaction can be ensured.

In conjunction with multi-factor hard cryptographic tokens, PKI can be used at Assurance Level 4. If only soft cryptographic token is available, PKI can still be used at Assurance Level 3 or below.

Keys

SMS-based Authentication

SMS is used as a delivery channel for a one-time password generated by information system. The user receives the password by reading the message in the mobile phone, and types back the password to complete the authentication. The unique identification of the SIM card effectively enables the mobile phone owner to possess an authentication token, which can be registered and used by different applications. SMS is an effective means for places where mobile phones are widely used in the community.

SMS can also be used as an “out of band” authentication mechanism for protecting against man-in-the-middle (MITM) attacks. If the MITM makes use of a fake website on the Internet to intercept sensitive information, SMS (which does not pass through the Internet) can be used as an “out of band” channel to confirm the authentication or transactional information. As the MITM cannot obtain the SMS information through the Internet, the attack will become unsuccessful.

Since SMS is a ubiquitous communication channel available in most mobile phones, SMS-based authentication has an advantage over other possession-based authentication means in which it does not require the users to carry extra portable devices such as OTP tokens or smart cards. When used with the password authentication, SMS provides a simple solution for two-factor authentication.

Symmetric-key Authentication

For traditional symmetric key authentication, the user shares a unique, secret key (usually embedded in a hard token) with an authentication server. The user is authenticated by sending to the authentication server his/her user name together with a randomly generated message (the challenge) encrypted by the secret key. If the server can match the received encrypted message (the response) using its shared secret key, the user is authenticated.

A slight variation of the symmetric-key implementation is the use of OTP tokens. Such OTP tokens use either a clock or counter, sometimes both, to generate the OTP with a symmetric key contained in the device. There are others that use a challenge-response system in which the token combines a random challenge from the authentication server with the shared secret key to generate the response, which is essentially the OTP. Since OTP will only be used once, it can protect the user against password guessing, eavesdropping and replay types of attacks.

When implemented together with the password authentication, this method also provides a possible solution for two-factor authentication systems, which is considered sufficient for applications that require Assurance Level 3.

Tools

Biometric Authentication

Biometrics is a method by which a person’s authentication information is generated by digitising measurements of a physiological or behavioural characteristic. Biometric authentication verifies a user’s claimed identity by comparing an encoded value with a stored value of the biometric characteristic concerned.

Common types of biometrics include:

Fingerprint / Palmprint
Recognises the physical structure of a person’s fingerprint / palmprint, e.g. the minutiae points that include bifurcations and ridge endings
Hand Geometry
Recognises the shape of a person’s hand
Retina Scan
Recognises the patterns of the blood vessels on the backside of the eyeball
Iris Scan
Recognises the unique patterns, rings, and corona in the iris, which is the colored portion of the eye
Signature Dynamics
Recognises the electrical signals, pressure used, slant of the pen, the amount of time and patterns captured in creating a signature
Keyboard Dynamics
Recognises the electrical signals when a person types a certain phrase on a keyboard, such as speed and movement
Voiceprint
Recognises the subtle difference in people’s speech sounds and patterns
Facial Scan
Recognises the attributes of a person’s face, bone structure, nose ridges and eye widths

The assurance level that can be met by a biometric authentication depends on the physical control and security of the biometric device. If the biometric device is not under control, such mechanism can only be used for applications at Assurance Level 1. However, the assurance level can be adjusted if the biometric authentication is implemented with other mitigation measures, like the physical control of the biometric device. This method will be most useful for physical access control types of applications (e.g. entrance to a computer centre) where the biometric scanner can be secured and controlled by the business owner.

电子认證方法
主页 > 
电子认證方法
< 返回

电子认證方法

电子认证系统一般可采用叁种不同方法:包括「使用者所知的资料」丶「使用者拥有的资料」,以及「使用者特徵或行为的资料」。双重认证指配合使用其中两种不同方法核实用户身分,一般较单一认证更为安全。诈骗者虽有可能通过互联网取得使用者的密码,却很难在网上取得用户所拥有的智能卡或手提电话 。为了应对身分盗用所带来不断增加的威胁,大部分本地银行已使用双重认证,以进行高风险的网上银行交易。

以下部分介绍在认证系统中一些常用的方法:

以密码及个人辨认号码认证

密码及个人辨认号码是最常用以资料为基础(「使用者所知的资料」)的认证方法。通常密码愈长,保护则愈强,而长密码有时被称为密码短语。作为良好的保安作业模式,使用者应尽量使用包含数字丶符号及混合大小写的严谨密码。认证系统亦应提供可产生数据交换加密通讯渠道的传输层安全功能,以便在传输过程中保护密码(及其他认证资料)。

现时大部分的保安攻击均针对以密码为基础的认证系统,当中不少诈骗者是以仿冒电邮丶假网站丶木马程式或其他恶意程式等方法盗取使用者的身分及密码。由於这些攻击的目标都是终端使用者,因此提升使用者的认知十分重要,以便他们可在日常交易中保障自身利益。

可见图像(图形密码)也可作为以资料为基础的独特认证方法。例子之一是随机产生五个逼真的图像让使用者选择,而使用者须重复在一系列载有图像的格子中抽选相关图像。藉着选出正确的图像,使用者实际上已输入其密码。

只有受适当密码政策管限的妥善密码系统方被视为足以适用於需要第 2 保证等级的应用。

以公开密码匙基础建设认证

公开密码匙基础建设是一个采用公开密码匙加密技术的管理架构。公开密码匙密码学提供一个配对密码匙(私人密码匙和公开密码匙)的认证方法。私人密码匙只由使用者拥有,不会与其他伺服器或使用者共用,而公开密码匙则由核证机关发出的公开密码匙证书认可,可供任何使用者或伺服器使用。

公开密码匙认证可通过硬体或软件权标形式进行,视乎不同情况的需要。软件权标是将私人密码匙储存於操作系统的密匙库,或以加密档案形式储存於数据储存装置内。一些系统会把私人密码匙储存於硬件权标内(如智能卡),在认证过程中必须持有权标。由於硬体权标不能汇出私人密码匙(即密码匙只得一份),遗失密码匙的情况会较易被察觉和得到补救。使用者激活权标时,需输入密码或进行生物特徵测定以核实合法的使用者。

应注意的是,在进行重要交易时,公开密码匙方案采用了「数码签署」,可提供额外的安全保障。为提交的数据加上数码签署,不但可认证身分,亦可确保交易的完整性不可否认性

如与多重认证硬体加密权标一起使用,公开密码匙基础建设可用於第 4 保证等级。如只有软体加密权标,公开密码匙基础建设仍可用於第 3 或以下保证等级。

密码匙

以短讯服务认证

短讯服务这个渠道可用作传送由资讯系统产生的一次性密码。使用者阅读手提电话中的短讯收取密码,然後输入该密码以完成认证。用户识别卡的独特识别码有效地令手提电话拥有人拥有认证权标,能让不同的应用程式登记及使用。短讯服务在手提电话普及的地方是有效的认证方法。

短讯服务也可作为一种「带外」认证方法,以防范中间人攻击。如中间人是通过假网站截取敏感资讯,短讯(不经互联网)可用作「带外」渠道以确定认证和交易资讯,而中间人则因为不能通过互联网取得短讯内容而无法令攻击成功。

大多数手提电话都有短讯服务,是一种普及的通讯渠道。与其他实体认证方式比较,短讯服务认证的好处是用户无须另外携带一次性密码权标或智能卡等手提装置。短讯服务与密码认证一起使用时,便可成为简单的双重认证方案。

对称密码匙认证

就传统的对称密码匙认证而言,使用者会拥有一个与认证伺服器相同独一无二的密码匙(通常置於硬体权标内)。使用者在认证时要向认证伺服器传送自己的使用者名称和一个以密码匙加密的随机产生讯息(质疑),如伺服器能利用共用密码匙配对所收到的加密讯息(应答),便能认证使用者身分。

一次性密码权标是与对称密码匙有轻微不同的方案,使用时钟或计算器(有时两者都会使用)及置於装置内的对称密码匙产生一次性密码。另有其他采用「质疑/应答」系统的认证方式,由权标以共用密码匙配合认证伺服器的随机质疑产生应答(主要是一次性密码)。由於密码只能使用一次,因此可有效对付密码猜测丶窃听或中继类型的攻击。

对称密码匙与密码认证一起使用时,也可成为双重认证系统的可行方案,被视为足以适用於需要第 3 保证等级的应用。

工具

生物认证

生物测定学是一种将生理或行为特徵数据数码化以产生个人认证资料的方法。生物认证通过将有关生物特徵测定的编码值与储存值作比较,核实使用者所声称的身分。

常见的生物认证方法包括:

指纹/掌纹
辨认人的指纹/掌纹的物理结构,例如包括纹线的分叉点和端点在内的细微特徵
掌形几何分析
辨认人的掌形
视网膜扫描
辨认眼球後侧的血管样式
虹膜扫描
辨认属眼睛有色部分的虹膜独特样式丶虹膜环和角膜
签名动态
辨认签名时的电子信号丶所用压力丶笔杆斜度丶所用时间和样式
打字按键动态
辨认人在键盘上键入某一词组时的速度和律动等电子信号
声纹
辨认人说话时在声音和样式上的细微分别
脸部扫描
辨认人的面孔丶骨骼结构丶鼻梁及眼睛宽度的特性

生物认证所能提供的「保证等级」,需视乎生物测定装置的实体控制及保安而定。如生物测定装置不受控制,这种机制便只适用於第 1 保证等级的应用。不过,如生物认证与生物测定装置实体控制等其他缓解措施一起使用,则「保证等级」可作调整。这种认证方法在进出控制方面(如进入电脑中心)的应用最为有用,因为生物测定扫描器的保安和控制都可以得到业务拥有人保证。